Delaware Paycheck Calculator

Calculate your take home pay after federal & Delaware taxes

Updated for 2023 tax year on Jan 01, 2023

What was updated? 2023 federal FICA, income tax rates & standard deduction

Calculation not correct? Request new features?

Paycheck calculators by state

Delaware state income tax

Delaware has a population of almost 1 million (2019) and is known for its business-friendly corporation law. As a result, there are more corporate entities formed in Delaware than residents. The median household income is $62,852 (2017).

Brief summary:

  • the income tax rate ranges from 0% to 6.6%
  • no state-level payroll tax
  • has standard deductions and exemptions
Delaware United States

From Wikipedia

Delaware tax year starts from July 01 the year before to June 30 the current year. So the tax year 2022 will start from July 01 2021 to June 30 2022.

Calculating your Delaware state income tax is similar to the steps we listed on our Federal paycheck calculator:

  1. figure out your filing status
  2. work out your adjusted gross income [Net income – Adjustments = Adjusted gross income]
  3. calculate your taxable income [Adjusted gross income – (Standard/Itemized deductions + Exemptions) = Taxable income]
  4. understand your income tax liability [Taxable income × Income tax rate = Income tax liability]
  5. minus any tax liability, deductions, withholdings [Net income – (Income tax liability + Pre-tax deductions + Post-tax deductions + Withholdings) = Your paycheck]

State payroll tax

There is no state-level payroll tax.

State income tax brackets

Each filer type has different progressive tax rates. Refer to Tax Foundation for more details.

Tax year Filing status Taxable income Rate
Married, Filing Jointly or Widow(er)
Married, Filing Separately
Head of Household
$0 – $2,000 0.00%
$2,000 – $5,000 2.20%
$5,000 – $10,000 3.90%
$10,000 – $20,000 4.80%
$20,000 – $25,000 5.20%
$25,000 – $60,000 5.55%
$60,000+ 6.60%

State standard deduction

Tax year Filing status Standard deduction amount
Married, Filing Separately
Head of Household
Married, Filing Jointly $6,500

State exemptions

There is state-level exemptions for all type of filers and dependents. All exemptions are in the form of tax credits. Refer to Tax Foundation for more details.


What taxes do Delawareans pay?

A resident of Delaware only needs to pay the state-level income tax, which ranges from 0% to 6.6%. There is no additional payroll tax.

How much do you make after taxes in Delaware?

The take home pay for a single filer with an annual wage of $63,000 is $48,640.25.
For a married couple with a combined salary of $126,000, the take home pay after taxes is $96,252.

How much taxes will get deducted from a $63,000 paycheck in Delaware?

The total taxes deducted for a single filer are $1196.65 monthly or $552.30 bi-weekly.